Legal Systems in Canada

Canada is a pluralist legal system which is comprised of three distinct legal systems that often intermingle, as the table below shows.

Legal systems in Canada

Legal System Applies to
Common law Federal laws apply across Canada to all Canadian citizens and landed immigrants. Provincial laws apply to each province, and municipal by-laws apply to each municipality.
Civil law Quebec jurisdiction
Indigenous law Aboriginal peoples and jurisdictions (reserves)

While these are the official legal systems in Canada today, a fourth may also be counted, which is biblical law.